New York Times wins three Pulitzer Prizes for excellence in journalistic reporting.

  • The New York Times won Pulitzer Prizes in commentary (Nikole Hannah-Jones), investigative journalism (Brian M. Rosenthal) and international reporting (awarded to a series of writers).
  • The most prestigious Pulitzer went to The Anchorage Daily news and ProPublica for their joint investigation on sexual violence in Alaska.
  • The aware for photography went to the staff of Reuters.
  • The Pulitzer award for breaking news went to the Courier-Journal in Louisville, Kentucky for its coverage of hundreds of last-minute pardons issued by former Governor Matt Bevin..
  • The annual awards, first given in 1917 and presented annually by Columbia University, were announced via video livestream from the living room of the Pulitzer administrator, Dana Canedy, because of the coronavirus pandemic.